February 15, 2001
Waukegan Mandira

Swaminarayan Bhagwan gave five vartamaanas (commands) for both householders and saints.
For householders, the vartamaanas are:
(1) Do not drink wine or eat meat
(2) Do not gamble
(3) Do not commit adultery
(4) Do not steal
(5) Do not forcibly convert or be converted in your belief system.

The five vartamaanas for saints are:
(1) Nirmaanee - free of ego
(2) Nishkaamee - free of desire for anything but God and His devotees
(3) Nirlobhee - free of greed
(4) Nihsnehee or Nihspruhee - love for nothing other than God and His devotees
(5) Nirsvaadee - free of attachment to taste
Householders also strive to follow the five vartamaanas prescribed to saints. They are the foundation for progress in satsanga.

In Swami Ni Vato 1/196, Gunatitanand Swami states that He talks [more] about vartamaanas and purusha-prayatna (self-effort) because [it is God's desire] that many worship God. On the other hand, He talks less about brahmabhaava (divinity) and mahimaa (glory) because people become "crazy" listening to such talks.

Dinkar Uncle explained that all of Gunatitanand Swami's talks are in fact filled with divinity and glory. But this way devotees will not lapse in following God's commands and also not become lazy.

Setting an example Himself, Gunatitanand Swami strictly followed all of God's commands and spent 40 years, 4 months, and 4 days at the Junagadh temple constantly performing service. In fact, Gunatitanand Swami worked so hard that in Swami Ni Vato 6/179, He explains that His feet are iron [hard] such that even a thorn can not prick them and His feet do not burn [when walking in the heat]!



Please click HERE if you are having problems viewing the site.